February 2, 2011
People in Idaho found guilty of felonies, misdemeanors and other infractions are charged a $10 fee, which helps finance the State Police Training Academy.
The Idaho State Police asked that the fee be increased to $11.50—a whopping $1.50 increase—to help shore up the budget of the Academy.
The hike request was turned down by legislators on the grounds that it was a tax, and we don’t believe in taxes.
So if you want to commit a felony here in Idaho, it’s still cheap.